top of page

2018 Springfield Colleen Crowned at Coronation & Awards Presentation (MassLive photos)

SPRINGFIELD - It was a night to remember for five local girls who competed for the title of 2018 Springfield Colleen at the Sheraton Monarch Place Hotel Saturday.

Competing for the prestigious title were, Emily A. Roux, of East Longmeadow; Allison Stevens, of East Longmeadow; Kathryn Laughlin, of East Longmeadow; Nichole McCarthy, of Springfield and Anna MacDonnell, of Longmeadow.

MacDonnell was crowned 2018 Springfield Colleen and will receive a tiara, Irish Aran knit sweaters, Tartan scarves, $2,000 towards two airline tickets to Ireland, sashes and plaques, and a walking stick.

MacDonnell is 18-years-old and attends Mount Holyoke College where she is majoring in French and Spanish, and hopes to pursue a career in human services to work in developing countries.

While attending Longmeadow High School, she was a member of the National Honors Society, the Spanish Club, the Red Cross and the Varsity indoor and outdoor track teams for three-years. MacDonnell and her court will ride in the Springfield float during the Holyoke St. Patrick's Parade on March 18.

Springfield St. Patrick's Committee President Kerri Sullivan thanked Paul Picknelly, Dennis Murphy, the staff and management of the Springfield Sheraton, Ball Committee members Aleshia Barbaro, Kathy Sullivan and Patricia Ferrarini.

Sullivan added that the Iron Duke Brewing and the Springfield St. Patrick's Day Parade Committee are releasing a new beer under the name Murph's Irish Ale with a release party scheduled for Feb. 22 at 5 p.m. "The parade committee is beyond excited to partner with a great local business like Iron Duke in Ludlow, which is part of the Springfield contingent" added Sullivan.

The Invocation was provided by 2015 Colleen Molly Sullivan and 2013 Colleen MaryKate Sullivan. Formal greeting were provided by Springfield Mayor Domenic Sarno and serving as Mistresses of Ceremonies were Mary Cate Mannion and Maggie Lohmiller, both from Western Mass News.

Other award winners included:

* Rick Quackenbush winning the 2018 Mary B. Troy Appreciation Award

* Matthew Keating winning the 2018 Paul G. Caron Award

* Caroline Kelly winning the John and Agnes Burke Award

* Nancy Lefebvre the 2018 Springfield parade Marshal

Jillian Murphy, 2017 Springfield colleen, delivered her final remarks and introduced her 2017 Court just minutes prior to the announcement of the 2018 colleen.

115 views0 comments
bottom of page